Is it possible to rotate fixture over X-axis?

Write here what nice effects or shows you have done with MADRIX or ask other users.

Moderator: MADRIX Team

walter

Is it possible to rotate fixture over X-axis?

Post by walter »

Hi, I'm new to madrix. Trying to achieve the setup as in the image (using SGM LT-100 tubes). (check the blue arrow) Can't figure out how to rotate a fixture so that it's pointing backwards (so along the Z-axis (each Z-layer just showing one pixel in the patch).
Of course I could do it manually but that will take an extreme amount of time compared to a simple rotation.
Any advise is appreciated!

Fritzsche
Support
Support

Re: Is it possible to rotate fixture over X-axis?

Post by Fritzsche »

Hi walter,

Welcome!

For your use case, I would recommend to create a separate fixture profile in the MADRIX Fixture Editor.
The Fixture Editor is automatically installed together with MADRIX and hence already available to you.

You will find instructions here: http://help.madrix.com/m3/html/fixtureeditor/index.html

Since those tubes are vertical tubes, the currently implemented profiles are set up in this way (X = 1, Y = amount of voxels). We also do have a horizontal fixture profile included, but not the one you would be looking for regarding the Z-levels (X = 1, Y = 1, Z = amount of voxels).

Please let us know if you need any help creating the fixture profile.

Thank you!
walter

Post by walter »

Perfect, worked like a charm. Instruction wasn't necessary to read, was really easy to do. Just copied the horizontal version and converted the x-values to z-values. The way the fixture is previsualized (in z-depth) is really how I would love the patch-window to look like... Any chance of expecting such a 3D view of the patch window in a future update?

Thanks, you've been a great help and saved me hours of teadious programming. 8)
Fritzsche
Support
Support

Post by Fritzsche »

Great. Thank you for your feedback!